Information about Birds of Prey:

Birds of Prey – also called raptors – are generally considered to be any bird that that hunts for vertebrates and other birds, doing so primarily while in flight. There are about 500 species that fit it this category living on the planet today.

These types of birds tend to have very powerful talons, useful for catching prey and holding on to it, and large powerful beaks which are used to rip and tear the meat from animal bones. Raptors tend to have very keen eyesight and wings that are shaped to allow ease of gliding, soaring and in some cases hovering. Except for owls, all birds of prey are able to store food and regurgitate it later, usually to feed offspring.

While several families of birds may be predatory or semi-predatory, only the following are considered true birds of prey: eagles, osprey, kites, kestrels, buzzards, hawks, harriers, vultures, falcons and owls. Birds of prey vary greatly in size; the smallest is the Elf Owl, which is only about 5 inches long, whereas the Andean Condor is the largest with an impressive 11 foot wingspan. For more information and learn how you can help these birds please visit The Center for Birds of Prey website.

Eagles (62)

Falcons and Kites (55)

Hawks & Harriers (53)

Owls (123)

Vultures & Condors (34)